Press "Enter" to skip to content

Who was the governor of India in 1885?

Who was the governor of India in 1885?

List of governors-general

Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
The Lord Northbrook (1826–1904) 3 May 1872 12 April 1876
The Lord Lytton (1831–1891) 12 April 1876 8 June 1880
The Marquess of Ripon (1827–1909) 8 June 1880 13 December 1884
The Earl of Dufferin (1826–1902) 13 December 1884 10 December 1888

Who was governor general during 1857?

Charles John Canning, Earl Canning
Charles John Canning, Earl Canning, also called (1837–59) Viscount Canning of Kilbrahan, (born December 14, 1812, London, England—died June 17, 1862, London), statesman and governor-general of India during the Indian Mutiny of 1857.

Who was the Viceroy of India from 1880 1884?

Lord Ripon
Viceroys in India from 1858 to 1947

Viceroy Tenure
Lord Ripon 1880 – 1884
Lord Dufferin 1884 – 1888
Lord Lansdowne 1888 – 1894
Lord Elgin II 1894 – 1899

Who was the Governor General of India in 1884?

Lord Dufferin served as Governor General of India and Viceroy from 1884 to 1888. During his tenure, the Third Burmese war led to annexation of whole of Burma and Burmese ruler was exiled to India. In 1885, AO Hume laid the foundation of Indian National Congress.

Who was the first British governor of Bengal?

Warren Hastings was the first Governor of Bengal (Presidency of Fort William). In 1750 he joined the British East India Company as a clerk and sailed out to India, reaching Calcutta in August 1750. In 1814 he made a Privy Counsellor.

When did the Governor General of India become the Viceroy?

Following the adoption of the Government of India Act of 1858, the Governor-General as representing the Crown became known as the Viceroy.

Who was the head of State in India in 1947?

The Governor-General of India (from 1858 to 1947 the Viceroy and Governor-General of India, commonly shortened to Viceroy of India) was the representative of the monarch of the United Kingdom and after Indian independence in 1947, the representative of the Indian head of state.