Press "Enter" to skip to content

What qualifies you for the Medal of Honor?

What qualifies you for the Medal of Honor?

Public Law 88–77, July 25, 1963: The requirements for the Medal of Honor were standardized among all the services, requiring that a recipient had “distinguished himself conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his life above and beyond the call of duty.”

How do you get awarded the Medal of Honor?

There are two protocols for awarding the Medal of Honor. The most common is a service member submits a nomination through the chain of command. The other process is through nomination by a member of Congress, usually at the request of a constituent and approved by a special act of Congress.

How common is the Medal of Honor award?

It is awarded by the President in the name of Congress. For this reason, it is often referred to as the Congressional Medal of Honor. Since it was first presented in 1863, the medal has been awarded 3,512 times to 3,493 recipients.

Do Medal of Honor recipients get to fly free?

3. Free, priority Space-A travel. Medal recipients are granted lifelong access to the military’s “Space A” travel, which allows active duty military members, some veterans and their dependents to hitch rides in empty seats on military planes. MoH recipients get preferred access, meaning they can jump the line.

Who is the youngest Medal of Honor winner?

William “Willie” Johnston
The youngest person ever to receive the Medal of Honor was probably William “Willie” Johnston, who earned the Medal during the Civil War just prior to his 12th birthday and received his award 6 weeks after his 13th.

Do generals salute each other?

How do they decide who salutes who? Officers of equal rank, General or otherwise, typically salute each other with the junior one (i.e. the one who got to that rank later) going first. Generals in the same arm of a country’s military usually all know or would have heard of each other, so they know who is senior.

How is the Medal of Honor awarded in the military?

The Medal of Honor (MoH) is the highest military medal a service member can earn. Created in the wake of the Civil War, the Medal of Honor is awarded to those who risk their lives above and beyond the call of duty in “actual combat” against an armed enemy of the United States. There is a military tradition that dictates all uniformed members …

What are the prerequisites for a Medal of Honor?

Satisfying the Prerequisites for Nomination Enlist in a branch of the US Armed Forces. Be engaged in military action while in service. Receive prior awards. Perform an act worthy of recommendation. Learn more about the medal. Procure substantial evidence of valor. Find contemporaneous descriptions of the incident.

How long does it take to get the Medal of Honor?

By Federal Statute, recommendations for the Medal must be submitted within 3 years of the valorous act and the Medal must be presented within 5 years. Any submissions outside of this timeline require an Act of Congress to waive the time limits.

Can a woman get a Medal of Honor?

The Navy, Air Force, and Army all award medals with unique engravings depicting their particular service branch. The Marine Corps and Coast Guard medals follow the Navy design. Both officers and enlisted men can receive the Medal. Women are generally eligible to receive the Medal, although only one woman, Mary Walker in 1861, has had the honor.