Press "Enter" to skip to content

What government controls the West Bank?

What government controls the West Bank?

The Palestinian Authority currently administers some 39% of the West Bank. 61% of the West Bank remains under direct Israeli military and civilian control. East Jerusalem was unilaterally annexed by Israel in 1980, prior to the formation of the PA. Since 2007 Gaza has been governed by the Hamas Government in Gaza.

Does Israel occupy the West Bank?

The Israeli occupation of the West Bank began on 7 June 1967 during the Six-Day War when Israel occupied the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, and continues to the present day.

Does Hamas control West Bank?

In 2006, Hamas won the 2006 Palestinian legislative elections and assumed administrative control of Gaza Strip and West Bank. Both regimes – the Ramallah and Gaza government regard themselves as the sole legitimate government of the Palestinian National Authority.

What kind of control does Israel have over the West Bank?

Israel still exercised full military control and, civil control over 61% of the West Bank ( Area C ). The Oslo Accords established access to the sea for Gaza within 20 nautical miles from the shore. The Berlin Commitment of 2002 reduced this to 12 miles (19 km).

What happens in Area B of the West Bank?

In Area B, which comprises about 21 percent of the West Bank, the PA controls education, health and the economy. In both areas, Israeli authorities have full external security control. This means that the Israeli military retains the right to enter these areas at any time, typically to raid homes or detain individuals under the pretext of security.

When did Israel withdraw from the West Bank?

In the West Bank the plan’s actual implementation began in May 1994 with the Israelis’ withdrawal from the town of Jericho and its environs. By 2000 the Palestinian Authority (PA) controlled less than one-fifth of the West Bank, while Israeli occupation (in some areas, combined with PA local administration) continued in the remainder.

Where are the Israeli settlements in the West Bank?

Since the implementation of the Oslo Accords, the West Bank has been divided into three areas: Area A (18%) which has full civil and security control by the Palestinian Authority. This is where most of the Palestinian population is, with no Israeli settlements around.