Press "Enter" to skip to content

What European countries had colonies in South America?

What European countries had colonies in South America?

Countries such as Spain, France and Portugal colonized the region. Although most of Latin America was colonized by Spain, the countries of Portugal and France also had major influences on the region.

What were the 3 European countries that colonized America in the 1700 s?

Britain, France, Spain, and the Netherlands established colonies in North America.

Which European power colonized America in the 17th century?

The British colonization of the Americas was the history of establishment of control, settlement, and colonization of the continents of the Americas by England, Scotland and Great Britain (after 1707).

What were the 3 main European countries that colonized the Americas during the 16th and 17th centuries?

Despite these commonalities, however, each of the countries that attempted to colonize North America in the 16th and 17th centuries—Spain, France, England, the Netherlands, and Sweden—had particular goals, methods, and geographic interests that played an important role in shaping Native American history.

Which two European countries dominated South America?

The Spanish and the Portuguese were the two main colonial powers that dominated South America. The Guianas were the only part of the continent not dominated by these two European powers.

Which region looked the strongest at the end of the 17th century?

France probably could have become the leading European colonial power in the 17th and 18th centuries. It had the largest population and wealth, the best army while Louis XIV ruled, and, for a time in his reign, the strongest navy.

Who are the European nations that established colonies in Latin America?

1 Portugal. Portugal was the second nation to establish colonies in the Americas, beginning with its conquest of Brazil. 2 France. After initial colonization by Spain and Portugal, France arrived in the Americas to take remaining land, like French Guiana. 3 Non-Latin Countries. …

What kind of colonies did Spain have in the 17th century?

This was particularly true after conquistadors Hernan Cortes and Francisco Pizarro conquered Mexico and Peru, respectively, and gold and silver began flowing back to Spain. North of Mexico, The English, Dutch and French settled in relatively large colonies in the 17th century, with Spain making inroads in Florida.

What are the countries that have colonies in Europe?

Restricting the list purely to the modern era (in order to avoid Ancient Greek colonies about which I know very little), the answer is that all of the following European countries had colonies: The UK. Denmark. France. The Netherlands. Portugal. Russia. Spain.

Where did Spain try to colonize the Americas?

While Spain had powerful colonies in Mexico, which included parts of today’s American Southwest, and South America, Florida was her one attempt to colonize the Atlantic seacoast.