Press "Enter" to skip to content

What areas were colonized by Great Britain?

What areas were colonized by Great Britain?


  • Anglo-Egyptian Sudan (Sudan)
  • Basutoland (Lesotho)
  • Balleland (Benin)
  • Bechuanaland (Botswana)
  • British East Africa (Kenya)
  • British Somaliland (Somaliland)
  • British Togoland (eastern Ghana)
  • British Cameroons (split between Nigeria and Cameroon)

Is New Zealand under the British Empire?

New Zealand officially became a separate colony within the British Empire, severing its link to New South Wales. North, South and Stewart islands were to be known respectively as the provinces of New Ulster, New Munster and New Leinster.

Which countries were part of the British Empire?

The British Empire. When Queen Victoria came to the throne in 1837, Britain already governed Canada, large areas of India, Australia, and New Zealand, and small parts of South America and Africa. Together, these countries formed the British Empire.

What countries were in the British Empire in 1900?

The British Empire in the Nineteenth Century

  • Canada.
  • Australia and New Zealand.
  • India.
  • Africa.
  • Imperial Britain.

    How did the British colonize Australia and New Zealand?

    The British colonized Australia by first creating prison colonies for convicts from Great Britain. New Zealand has two main islands and is home to the Maori, who were originally from Polynesia. The British colonized New Zealand and often were in conflict with the Maori.

    Which is part of Australia does New Zealand belong to?

    New Zealand is part of Australasia, and also forms the southwestern extremity of Polynesia. The term Oceania is often used to denote the region encompassing the Australian continent, New Zealand and various islands in the Pacific Ocean that are not included in the seven-continent model.

    Where did the people of New Zealand come from?

    New Zealand and Australia were both inhabited before the era of European colonialism. Aboriginal people are said to have migrated to Australia across Southeast Asia from the mainland of Asia more than forty thousand years ago. They made Australia their home and adapted to the physical geography of the continent.

    Why are Australia and New Zealand unique in the world?

    Australia and New Zealand have flora and fauna that are found nowhere else on Earth. Australia is distinctive because it is an island, a country, and a continent—the smallest of the world’s continents. No other land mass can concomitantly make those three claims.