Press "Enter" to skip to content

What are the islands in the eastern Caribbean called?

What are the islands in the eastern Caribbean called?

Stretching in an arc, southwards from Puerto Rico to Grenada, the Eastern Caribbean includes the main islands of Barbados, Antigua and St Lucia, while further south, and closest to the South American coast (just a few miles from Venezuela) are the sister islands of Trinidad and Tobago and the Dutch islands of Aruba.

What three islands are on the eastern Caribbean?

The Leeward Islands are the northern islands of the Lesser Antilles in the Eastern Caribbean….The Leeward Islands.

Anguilla Saba
Antigua and Barbuda St. Barthelemy
British Virgin Islands St. Eustatius
Guadeloupe St. Kitts and Nevis
Montserrat St. Martin

What is the group of islands in the Caribbean called?

By looking at a map of the Caribbean we can easily see why the Caribbean islands can be divided into three groups: the Bahamas, the Greater Antilles, and the Lesser Antilles.

What kind of islands are in the Caribbean Sea?

The Lesser Antilles Most of the islands in this group form an arcing archipelago that separates the Caribbean Sea from the Atlantic Ocean. Some of the islands in this group, such as Aruba, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Netherlands Antilles, are close to the coast of South America.

Who are the people of the Eastern Caribbean islands?

The Eastern Caribbean islands were dominated by two main cultural groups by the European contact period: the Arawaks and the Kalinago, or Caribs. Individual villages of other distinct cultural groups were also present on the more southerly, larger islands. The large island of Trinidad in particular was shared by both Kalinago and Arawak groups.

What are the Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean?

The Lesser Antilles: Windward Islands The southeastern islands of the Caribbean over which the northeast tradewinds, or northeasterlies, blow are known as the Windward Islands. These islands include Dominica, Martinique, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, the Grenadines, and Grenada.

Where is Jamaica located in the Caribbean Group?

Jamaica, also part of the Greater Antilles island group, lies south of Cuba. It is a little smaller than Connecticut. Its landscape is mostly mountainous, with narrow plains along the coast.