Press "Enter" to skip to content

How many regions does Somalia have?

How many regions does Somalia have?

18 Regions
Somalia is officially divided into thirteen administrative regions (gobollo, singular gobol) and five claimed but uncontrolled regions in Somaliland….Administrative divisions of Somalia.

Regions of Somalia Gobollada Soomaaliya (Somali) مناطق الصومال (Arabic)
Location Federal Republic of Somalia
Created 1982
Number 18 Regions (as of 1984)

Is Somalia a state or country?

Somalia, easternmost country of Africa, on the Horn of Africa. It extends from just south of the Equator northward to the Gulf of Aden and occupies an important geopolitical position between sub-Saharan Africa and the countries of Arabia and southwestern Asia.

What are the 18 regions of Somalia?

Eighteen Regions of Somalia

  • Banaadir Region. Banaadir is one of the regions of Somalia.
  • Galguduud Region. Galguduud is one of the regions of Somalia.
  • Hiran(Hiiraan) Region.
  • Middle Shebelle(Shabeellaha Dhexe) Region.
  • Lower Shebelle(Shabeellaha Hoose) Region.
  • Bari Region.
  • Mudug Region.
  • Nugal(Nugaal) Region.

Is Somalia divided into two?

Somalia is not just one country. It is two – the other is Somaliland. The North-western part of Somalia became known as British Somaliland and the rest as Italian Somaliland. In 1991 on May 18 Somaliland broke away from Somalia.

What is the largest region in Somalia?

In terms of landmass, Bari is the largest province in the Federal Republic of Somalia. The highest point in this region is Mount Bahaya, the third tallest mountain in Somalia with an elevation of 2120 meters; other notable peaks include Karkaar and Cal Miskaad mountains.

Are Somalis tall?

The men are generally six feet in height, and all have the most regular white teeth. The Somali are generally tall and well made, with a very dark smooth skin; their features express great intelligence and anima- tion, and are of a Grecian type, with thin lips and aquiline noses ; their hair is long, and very thick.

Are Somalis from Africa?

Somali, people of Africa occupying all of Somalia, a strip of Djibouti, the southern Ethiopian region of Ogaden, and part of northwestern Kenya. Except for the arid coastal area in the north, the Somalis occupy true nomad regions of plains, coarse grass, and streams.

What is Somalia old name?

the Somali Democratic Republic
Somalia (Somali: Soomaaliya; aṣ-Ṣūmāl), officially the Federal Republic of Somalia (Somali: Jamhuuriyadda Federaalka Soomaaliya, Jumhūriyyat aṣ-Ṣūmāl al-Fideraaliya) and formerly known as the Somali Democratic Republic, is a country located in the Horn of Africa.