Press "Enter" to skip to content

How many DS divisions are there in Trincomalee?

How many DS divisions are there in Trincomalee?

11 Divisional Secretary’s
Trincomalee District is divided into 11 Divisional Secretary’s Division (DS Divisions), each headed by a Divisional Secretary (previously known as an Assistant Government Agent). The DS Divisions are further sub-divided into 230 Grama Niladhari Divisions (GN Divisions).

Which district is Kanthale?

Trincomalee District
Kantale (Sinhala: කන්තලේ, romanized: Kantalē; Tamil: கந்தளாய், romanized: Kantaḷāy) is a town in the Trincomalee District in eastern Sri Lanka.

Which province is Batticaloa?

Batticaloa (Tamil: மட்டக்களப்பு, Maṭṭakkaḷappu; Sinhala: මඩකලපුව, Madakalapuwa) is a major city in the Eastern Province, Sri Lanka, and its former capital. It is the administrative capital of the Batticaloa District. The city is the seat of the Eastern University of Sri Lanka and is a major commercial centre.

How many Tamils were killed in Sri Lanka?

These days, the conservative estimate is Sri Lankan forces murdered 70,000 Tamils civilians, as they moved in on the populations the government promised to save, during what’s now known as the Mullivaikkal massacre, which ended in May 2009.

What was the population of Trincomalee District in 2012?

Trincomalee District’s population was 378,182 in 2012. The population of the district, like the rest of the east and north, has been heavily affected by the civil war. The war killed an estimated 100,000 people.

Where is the capital of Trincomalee District Sri Lanka?

The capital of the district is the city of Trincomalee . Trincomalee District is located in the east of Sri Lanka in the Eastern Province. It has an area of 2,727 square kilometres (1,053 sq mi).

Where does the word Trincomalee come from in Tamil?

Kona ( Tamil: கோண) has other meanings in Old Tamil such as peak, while another origin for the term Koneswaram could come from the Tamil term Kuna (East). Therefore, other translators suggest definitions of Trincomalee such as “sacred angular/peaked hill”, “sacred eastern hill” or “three peaked hill”.

Popular tourist destinations include its beaches at Uppuveli, Salli and Nilaveli, used for temple visits, surfing, scuba diving, fishing and whale watching, and the Kanniya Hot Springs.